SUMMER REAL TALK

It’s been just under 2 months since I last wrote a blog post (!!!). I have either been working like crazy or being a hermit crab; sat at home, eating junk food and watching movies and day time television (I was soon tempted to do the latter today!!). I will always openly admit that I can be really unsociable and sometimes ALL I want to do is snuggle up in a blanket and chill. And you know what? There is NOTHING wrong with that and I totally embrace those days where I am able to refuel and enjoy my own time.

Every summer I repeat the same phrase, ‘This summer will be the best’, where I am supposed to achieve my dream summer body, visit my family and see old friends, go to festivals and travel to new places, whilst drinking smoothies and being tanned. And then, before I have chance to buy a bikini or order a cocktail, three months of summer is over and I’m left feeling deflated and disappointed, pondering at where all those missed opportunities went.

An article, by Cosmopolitan editor Farrah Storr, touched upon this subject a little where she explored summer blues and the reasons why summer plans fall flat. Farrah suggested people create hopes and expectations, and do this by trying to control the circumstances around them; and you know what? She is soooooo right, my summer plans always fall flat because I put so much importance on why my summer will be the best and try and make all these exotic plans, yet I reserve my options and try to master the season. So instead, this year, I am going to say YES to EVERYTHING… parties, holidays, festivals, spa days, strawberries farms and seeing friends of friends… Hello SUMMER (!!)

Social media accounts:

Instagram: rebekahftownsend

Twitter: rtownsend_

Snapchat: rtownsend93

Leave a Reply

